GTranslate

Login | Register |

Webinar: Climate Change Threatens the World’s Marine Protected Areas

Resource Type: 
Description: 

Webinar:  Climate Change Threatens the World’s Marine Protected Areas | Presenter: John Bruno of University of North Carolina Chapel Hill | Date: July 23, 2018 at 2pm EDT / 11am PDT / 6pm UTC

MPAs and the species they protect are increasingly being impacted by climate change. Although MPAs are widely promoted as a means to mitigate the effects of climate change, the opposite perspective is more in line with the scientific reality: without drastic reductions in carbon emissions, ocean warming, acidification and oxygen depletion will disrupt the composition and functioning of the ecosystems currently protected within the world’s MPAs. The community- and ecosystem-level impacts of climate change threaten to negate decades of progress in conservation and further imperil species and ecosystems that are already in jeopardy. Webinar co-sponsored by the NOAA National MPA Center, MPA News, and the EBM Tools Network (co-coordinated by OCTO and NatureServe).

Register at: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_zxkX-c5JStm1vFsMkOrNkw

Speaker: 
John Bruno
Date Conducted: 
23 July 2018
NBSAP Theme: 
Region: 
Language: 
English
up
11 users have voted.

Comments